…I know the thoughts that I think toward you…

by Mardi3

I am so tired that my eyes are still burning from the past two weeks at work. Summer school starts tomorrow and I have come to realize that Tennessee charter schools truly expect teachers to work 12+ hour days for at least six days per week.

In the past week, things have run the gamut from a mini-mutiny amongst the team to “happy hour” with the team after work watching the Mississippi rolling by.  We have also shared actual tears as each of us revealed our life maps detailing how we came to this revolutionary point in education.

I am so excited that the students will arrive tomorrow but I honestly do not know what this year will look like. My work-life boundaries seem futile and I am wondering how I will have a semblance of family life in the four hours available outside of work and sleep. (My husband is working for the same company at a different location.) I hope that I am able to continue writing these reflections. It has helped me process and keep focused on the bigger picture.

So I will have to let go and know that even though there will be times that I can not see it- there is a plan in this. Just like Hadassah was in the “kingdom for a time such as this” (Esther 4:14) perhaps we planted in this place at this time to be a part of something truly awesome.

 

Passage to Ponder

Jeremiah29:11

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

Blessings

14/52

 Mississippi River

