Jugde not…

by Mardi3

Recently, I learned a secret about a neighbor who I have known for six months. Actually, it is not really a secret because the whole neighborhood knows. However, if I could erase this tidbit  from my mind that would suit me just fine.

I noticed from the start a lostness: rarely seen without a can of beer and with the full time occupation of holding down the front porch. Honestly, I feel weirded out knowing but I also feel very sad.

This morning the Scarlet Letter came to mind. (My tween niece informed me on Tuesday that she selected it as her next read.) But this morning I was thinking what it would be like if we each had to wear a scarlet “A”. “I”, or “C” for all to see. Would wearing a scarlet “J” cause one to repent (sorry+stop)?

Now I know that God can use all sorts of people to change the world: those who repent (Moses, Paul, the woman at the well) and those who seem to have chosen not to repent (Achan, Judas Iscariot, and Annias and Sapphira). I do not know my neighbor’s heart. I just do not want judgmental thoughts to get me cut off or for me to miss an opportunity to do my part positively. (Perhaps, this unwanted knowledge is meant to change me.)

Frankly, I am at a loss. I have grown past throwing stones. I understand that the only judgement that matters will occur on the last day. Now I am just trying to learn not to gather the stones in the first place. As with all things that are too heavy, this is one for the prayer box.

Blessings.

 

11/52

Passage to Ponder:

Matthew 7:1-2

Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgement ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.

