Behold the beauty of the Lord

by Mardi3

 

I have never seen the sun stand still at the “command” of a man.

I have never seen a donkey talk in an effort to protect a man from the angel of death.

I have never heard the commanding voice of covenant issuing from a fiery bush.

 

However,

 

I have experienced the indescribable beauty of a “lost” loved one’s face after months of dwelling on the streets.

I have experienced on-time deliverance for my family amidst rushing waters that threatened to consume.

I have climbed arduous mountains, both literal and figurative, to behold the beauty of creation.

 

As I reflect on Biblical accounts of those who were willing to suspend disbelief, fear, and pride and miracle-filled experience that I witness daily, I am in awe of His power to transform, encourage, and inspire.

The other day I was reading a girly-story about six friends who become like family. A couple of the characters repeatedly professed their lack of belief in God. Honestly, I do not understand how one can look at beauty and deny God’s existence.

(Intricate beauty of amplified mustard seed and growing mustard plant in Jerusalem)

It amazes me that from a miniscule mustard seed a hardy plant with so many purposes thrives because He made it so.

It amazes me to look out from my city window at people who look like ants from my vantage point: walking/rolling, breathing, talking, thinking, being because He made it so with replicated precision.

It amazes me to recall the collective emotional experience as the Chilean miners were unearthed after 69 days. That was God’s handiwork, for sure.

Daily, I am on the look out for tiny and ginormous opportunities to experience the beauty that God has created in nature, among people, and in being. Staying attuned to the miraculous beauty of the everyday helps me to keep climbing the mountains but it also primes my heart for the immeasurable beauty that is to come.

Blessings

 

Passage to Ponder:

Psalm 27:4

One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after, that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to enquire in his temple.

9/52

