The voice of rejoicing and salvation…

by Mardi3

I LOVE going to the library on a Sunday morning to grab an unexpected book, something to take my knowledge of the world off on a tangent. This morning I was thinking about one such find, Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks. After reading this book a few years ago, I was relieved to learn that I do not suffer from musicogenic epilepsy: seizures brought on my music. Oh, the horror!

For nearly twenty years, I had a preoccupation with all-things Prince: purple, concerts, and sightings. Now if I hear a few beginning bars of his music, I can recall the nuances of the pitch and recall a time when I poorly warbled a given song. Actually, that remembrance is true of any music that I listened to in that repetitive adolescent way.

Yet, the most important reason that I am glad that I do not suffer from musicogenic epilepsy is because my life is what I imagine the musical portions of Glee must be like. Though I have never seen the show, I can imagine the characters bursting into a happy or haunting song to fit the mood of the scene. 

Maybe it is weird to have your own mental play-list of songs to soothe the soul. When I was having “hard-times” last fall, I would walk up the stairs singing Fred Hammond’s Blessed. (Once I passed a music-loving teacher on the stairwell and unfortunately for him he heard my untrained rendition of the song of the day.) I Can Only Imagine (Mercy Me), Joann Rosario’s More, More, More, and He Wants It All (Forever Jones) are regularly pulled off my soul-soothing shelf. When I can find a verse that fits one of my songs, the “mental singing” becomes like a prayer. Weird or not, it works for me.

 

                                                               

 

Now if you see me walking downtown, in full-on-Glee mode singing songs from the Sound of Music on a regular basis, ask me if I am all right. Otherwise, I am good.

 

Passage to Ponder:

Psalm 118:15

The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of the Lord doeth valiantly.

 

