Count it all joy…

by Mardi3

Imagine being excited about the possibilities of a career move that is aligned to your aspirations and allows you to continue working with your spouse, a family move to experience an unexpected urban adventure, and access to a medical giant known for her expertise. Fantastic, right? Then imagine each of those same hopes being dashed to itsy bitsy pieces. Been there, done that in the past eight months.

 

I will not lie-as the child in the family who suffered from a golden child complex-the crash and burn was a bit brutal. I was horrified at the violence of the unexplainable actions that attempted to steal our joy. I even uttered a choice word on a alarmingly frequent basis, in my head. I was affronted thinking about me (and mine) but we continued to pray for all involved parties. (The cussing stopped when I caught my breath and realized that I can’t cuss and praise with the same mouth.) So during our transition period, I tried to retrain my brain from my unhelpful thoughts by praying that they receive whatever mercy that they were due. Doing that helped me to regain my joy.

 

Funny, a few friends have commented that even when faced with huge personal losses in our family we continue to laugh and love. One person commented that most people in our situation would fall apart. Another visitor to our fair city, was shocked by our recent events but commented on our heart. So some folks watch us growing stronger and more empathetic and see HIM. Well, Praise God!

 

As always, I think of the losses that we have experienced and how things have turned out SO MUCH better than I could have imagined. (Having lost my home in the flood and it not being the end of the world, I tend to think: HE brought us through the flood so anything that comes our way will work out for our good.) Imagine being in the right place at the right time for a fantastic opportunity, imagine being in a new situation in which people respect your custom of resting on the seventh day, and imagine hidden doors being opened that will allow you to bless others rather than to curse. Knowing the Lord God of Israel as our rear guard allows me to count it all joy.

Image

Passage to Ponder:

James 1:2-3

My bretheren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;

Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.

 

 

