If you love me…

by Mardi3

Mom had rules for my younger brother and I as we were growing up. I recall one time-we were returning from one of those long, windy road trips to the country.  For some mysterious reason, my tween brother decided that he should throw his banana peel out of the car window. At that point we were about four blocks from home. Nonetheless, he did it. Then Mom stopped the car, made him pick the peel off the ground, and told him to walk the rest of the way home. Oh the horror. Yes, Mom had rules and there were consequences for not obeying them.

 

My brother laughed when I reminded him of the event and shared that he never did that again. Mom really was horrified and apologetic when I mentioned this to her. Au contraire, no apology necessary in my mind. I get it and he got it: she was chastising her beloved son. That occurrence sticks in my mind decades later as an example of the need to follow the rules.

 

This evening will start the last day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread. All week we have feasted on Bible truths and unleavened bread. Interestingly, all week there has been that nagging little thought tempting me with leavened breads: cakes have never looked so delicious and Five Guys has been calling me like a mythical Siren. Yet, following my Saviour’s rules is about faith. Thankfully, His death on the cross ripped the veil and ended the law of animal sacrifice. Thankfully, He gave us examples of the things that He wants us to do. Thankfully, we still have access to the book that lets us know the rules and the rewards for following them.

 

Passage to Ponder:

Luke 16:31

And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead.

 

Passage for today:

John 14:15

If ye love me, keep my commandments.

(John 15:10)

 

 

Blessings.

2/52

 

 

 

 

 

